A fresh start, a new beginning

Well, folks I have not written for a long time.

And now, I am going to restart this blog with new info. I do hope you will read and enjoy it.

When I first met Rannette Eva Daniels Nicholas, in 1975, her hair was a golden color, it was long and flowing and a bit curly. But what I remember most is her eyes and laughter. Her eyes held a depth of wisdom and aliveness I had never seen nor known  before. She looked right into my soul with her gaze. And her laughter was at once lyrical, melodious and joyful. A hearty blend of  happiness and sauciness. I was entranced. Whatever her secret to living life was, I wanted to learn it and be a part of whatever she was doing.

At the time, she was leading men’s and women’s groups out of her duplex on Croft in West Hollywood. Later, she established the Daniels Institute of Successful Living, which became known as The Institute in Beverly Hills on Wilshire Boulevard.

After another incarnation, it became known as Earthplay. A few years later, we brainstormed that name in Munich, Germany. Because what Rannette’s work and teachings were always about living life with joy, playing on the earth. Having fun and creating success. Going for your dreams. And Be Do Having what you want while being a good, kind, professional person with honesty, integrity and consideration for other people. Serving others while serving yourself. But I digress.

18911_10155387205885650_228503917831208162_n

I had wanted to find an ongoing Radical Feminist therapy group. And I called the Woman’s Building and asked for a referral. As a joke, this woman, Nancy, referred me to Rannette. What Rannette was doing, the men’s and women’s groups, were radical. And she considered herself a feminist. Nancy pranked me into thinking that I was going to a group like the one I had been participating in. But it was not at all the same.

My first inkling that this was going to be a very different experience was when a man answered the telephone. Now, I am heterosexual aka straight. But some of the radical feminists were gay and a minority of them considered themselves separatists who wanted to separate the genders. They wanted no part of men. I did not agree with that and yet, this new experience, even on the phone, seemed unusual. It was just plain odd for a man to answer the phone for a Radical Feminist therapy group!

John and I had a very strong connection on the phone. He invited me to an Open House where I could get to meet the woman running the groups and to see firsthand what they were doing. Sounded good to me.

Still, somewhat puzzled, I sat outside the address for a few minutes after seeing an older man going into the door of the place. What the heck was going on? Why were all of these men going to Radical Feminist meetings?  I tossed and turned the idea around in my brain and it did not compute. My shrink, however, had been supporting me to try new experiences. I finally decided to go inside because I could always leave if I did not like it.

Bravely, I knocked at the door and was greeted by the tall, dark and blue-eyed handsome man who I had spoken with on the phone. John was polite, charming and gracious and ushered me inside where I sat and watched a group of men and women share about their lives and experiences that week. The energy in the room was something that I had never encountered. I could not quite put my finger on it. But it was infectious. Everyone seemed happy. The women in the Radical Feminist group I had gone to were angry and / or depressed about how unfairly women were treated in the world. To say the least, this was nothing like that!

The women in this group seemed empowered. They were achieving successes in their personal and career lives. And they were enjoying whatever they were doing.

10649682_10152235331077024_4402972625366156552_n

Amazed, I continued to observe until the group took a break and went into separate rooms. Men in one, women in another. John took me into another small room and led me through a very short guided visualization. It was very powerful and insightful. My therapy had been good and I thought successful, too. But this was something more. Something completely indefinably different and I wanted more. After discussing the benefits of the groups, a lady entered the room, who John introduced as the founder. Her name was Rannette Daniels (now it is Nicholas). Hungry, I asked questions and devoured her answers.

She says that they could not get me to leave. I was there for something like six hours. I just could not believe that this was real. That she was Authentic. True. I am, at heart, a jaded, skeptical, even cynical at times, New Yorker. And so I had to find the catch, right. What was really going on? Was I being scammed? But I could find nothing wrong. I found nothing other than pure love, compassion, empathy and joy. Love seemed to emanate from her very pores.

Soon, I knew that I had found what I had been looking for. My life’s work and then some. And for 40 years, I have found knowing, working and assisting Rannette Nicholas to be a joy, challenging, difficult, and more.  I have done things like lead seminars and workshops (the best time of my life!),  travel around the world for three years as part of OIM, an intercessory prayer ministry, in the late 1980’s, completed college, became (my dream) a published writer (newspaper reporter, editor and publicist), relieved 98% of my symptons of fibromyalgia and so much more.

Which brings me to the present time. This week, amidst my own precarious life situations, I found out that this woman who I have loved, who has encouraged and supported me and had my back for so many years is very ill and needs assistance. I was at once relieved to know what was going on and immensely saddened by the news.

And hopefully, there are people who know or knew Rannette and others that do not, Angels, who will be guided to assist her in overcoming this difficult time and obtaining the resources that she needs.

You can read more about what is going on here:

https://www.youcaring.com/rn-455063

lead

About CeliaSue

Writer for Hire... CeliaSue Hecht has been published in more than 40 publications including top 100 newspapers and national magazines. She is a published travel writer and co-author of five romantic travel guides, originally from NYC, who has lived in Monterey, Burlingame (SF airport area) and Bodega Bay and will show you many local favorite hot spots, secret surprises and share insider's tips about writing travel stories along the way. She has taken a grand tour along the California coast to Ashland, Oregon with her wonder dog, Cici. Last summer, they went to Mendocino. She has traveled around the world and lived in Bangladesh, Canada, England, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, India, Israel, Singapore and Thailand (as well as NYC, Arizona, California, Florida and Nevada).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

